Narrowband

Hi from an initiate in North Hampshire

Wbarkingmad

Hi, I have recently taken the plunge into astronomy and internet forums at roughly the same time and thought I'd say hello. I have always had a fascination for what is outside the atmosphere and having recently moved to a relatively dark village location, indulged myself in a telescope. The 'scope in question is a Skywatcher 200P dob (its already had its mount modified (I'm an engineer, I can't help myself)). FLO pointed me at SGL and here I am. The dob has been a truly great way of getting a feel for what is out there, highly recommended. It is remarkably amenable to engineering mods too. The mount now has PTFE bushing, seperate handles for aiming, carrying and friction adjustment and, crowning glory, a very old brass setting circle for azimuth. One of those digital angle gauges for alt and I'm well set. Eyepieces are being accumulated as we speak.

First light was Saturn - truly awe inspiring for a beginner - and since then, most of the obvious clusters, Jupiter, Mars, lots of Moon, M31, M51 just about, the Ring Nebula and the Dumbbell Nebula. Roll on darker nights.

Hi Pete and welcome to the forum.

I have to say that no matter how many times I have seen Saturn, in fact all the items in your list CONTINUE to amaze me and I am far from bored looking at them again and again. This might sound like a bit of a confession but when I set all the gear up, the first thing I do is to revisit a lot of the first objects I ever saw just to say "hello, how are you doing". Yes you're probably right, I might be need of assistance from a couple of guys in white coats but hey, that for me is what visual astronomy is all about, making the unimaginable, possible.

Clear skies for your continued observing!!

James

Hi James,