Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

will this Skywatcher Explorer 200P EQ5 ...........

first of all like to say hi to you all:hello2:.complete novice but i have spent a few hours trolling through various posts and the one thing that seems to stand out is SIZE.i,m looking to buy a scope which will mainly be backyard gazing,hoping to view some dso,s aswell as planets etc.will the scope mention be easy to cart in and out?will it be ok to store in a garden shed(well ventilated)?and other worries as a novice are ease of setup and collimation.any views appreciated and feel free to suggest other scopes etc.max budget around 400 pounds.thanks:icon_salut:

It's a good scope but, for visual use, you might want to consider an 8" dobsonian scope:

Dobsonians - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian

I say this for 3 reasons:

i. A dobsonian is really easy move about to set up - you just point it where you want to look.

ii. The dobsonian is an F/5.9 scope which makes collimation a bit easier and a little less critical.

iii. The cost of the scope will allow you some £'s for accessories, once you have a chance to get to know it.

Great scope to get as it is quite a capable all rounder, but as Nadeem says the EQ5 is fine for visual work but if in the future you'd like to get into imaging a mount with a larger load capacity would be advisable - like an HEQ5 Pro or an EQ6.

Ive had my 200P for a year or so and it has been a great scope to learn on - and there is a wealth of info on it on this forum. See Astrobaby's review on her website for a start!

Doc

I have this scope and did have that exact setup... But i quickly sold the EQ5 and bought a HEQ5 Pro...

The scope is a brilliant first scope, and it never ceases to amaze me.

The goto is a brilliant function, it maybe out of your budget though.

It is great for everything, i have done a little AP with it and is brilliant on showing up them DSO