Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What do I need to buy now?

As some of you may know (I'm gonna say it again anyway as I'm elated) I've just bought a SW Explorer 130P Supatrak Auto :) However, what do I need to buy now? I see in peoples signatures they have different lenses and whatnot. I understand I'm not gonna just look through my 'scope and see Jupiter and its Moons like you do in the mags and even on here. It will more than likely look like a dot but I'd like to make it look as best as possible with the 'scope I've got. So, how do I do that? Here's the specs of the 'scope and what's included - Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 130P SupaTrak AUTO

What do I need extra? Bear in mind that I haven't a clue where to start, what the different lenses do, etc. When I say I'm a total newbie that's exactly what I mean lol. I've been reading some websites but they seem to confuzzle me even more :) What direction exactly is Jupiter in? Where the heck do I point the 'scope? What kind of 'scope gets these results - http://stargazerslounge.com/imaging-solar/110422-finally-sunny-winter-day-couple-close-ups.html#post1494168 ??? Will one day I ever be able to afford a 'scope that produces images such as these lol. Arghhhh :D Sooooo many questions, this is ridiculous...

Also, is there anything else as a total newbie I need to know or buy? Any good books, etc?.

Thanks Guys, and sorry for being blonde lol.

FWIW I would suggest you get used to the gear you have before parting with any more cash. You will need to "get your eye in" and you should do that first.

If you want to spend some more money, get a copy of "Turn Left At Orion" for some good objects to go looking for, and download one of the free planetarium software packages; Cartes du Ciel, Stellarium, etc

HTH