Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Anyone built an observatory in their roof?

Martyn_Bannister

Hi there,

I was thinking, in one of my madder moments, wouldn't it be great if I could have a sliding door (like they have on the side of a white van) in the roof of my house?

If it wasn't actually raining, I could slide open the door, raise a platform from the bowels of the loft and observe away. If the sliding door was just under the ridge of the roof, it would afford a 360 degree view of the sky, the horizon formed by nearby houses and trees would be effectively lowered and it would all stow neatly back in, come the inevitable rain.

The platform would need to be big enough for me and the scope of course, and the sliding door would need to be weather tight.

An alternative would be a platform just big enough for the scope, and run everything by remote control from the lounge............

Anyone got there before me??????? :D

Aha. That's a point :D

I'm a newbie, so forgive the dumb question, but what effect would the heat have? Is it atmospheric effects due to air currents, or is it change of temperature of the equipment?

I currently live in a new build, with 6" of high quality loft insulation on the loft floor. It's always a possibility to increase this, or replace with something a bit better. Being a new build, my garden is tiny and, of course, from the garden the house would cut off a large proportion of the sky. Observing from the ridge line of the roof would give me a much better view.

Depending on your observing or imaging intentions you might have trouble getting stability from a suspended floor. This would affect imaging far more than visual observing. People go to great lengths to plant their scopes an big bases or buried pillars of concrete. My main mount stands on 3.5 tonnes.

I think that whatever you do with insulation the rising currents are likely to be an issue. But none the less the idea is interesting.

Olly