sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_2.thumb.jpg.72789c04780d7659f5b63ea05534a956.jpg

Hi I am new to here and new to astronomy.. I am a complete beginner .. my father in law was bought a telescope (I'm not sure of make and model) but due to him moving house he lf a few things at my home .. one being a telescope... I know he got it from argos I got it out yesterday just to look at the moon and was amazed at how clear detail it was .. which set me of with the idea .. I have always loved looking up at the stars but now I want to get one for myself and try to see planets (do you know if I would be able to see planets with this one I was told you can with any home telescope).

anyway hope to get to know you all :0)

Sarah

(any idea on a good first timers cheap (ish) telescope). thanks in advance

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hi and welcome to sgl, finding planets is not really hard they are normally the brightest objects in the sky venus and jupiter at the min, you could also buy a few astro mags like from WH smiths and they useully tell you where they are, which is very handy to start you off.

Edited by cardconvict

I'm a newbie too, so hold on and you will probably get some even better advice.

Firstly welcome to a great forum(the members here are great) :D

second, it's hard to tell without knowing what size scope it is and i don't know much about them either but, I looked on the web, the ones i saw were some national geographic and some celestron, any idea which it could be? might help us help you :mad:

I imagine you will see the planets with most scopes now, its just how you see them that differs.

depending what scope you have already, the sky-watcher Explorer 130 seems to be a popular beginners choice although it depends on your budget here is a link: Reflectors (that's a cheap starter scope and if you can afford a better aperture all the better)