SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Decision made - celestron nexstar 127SLT - but what accessories??

Ok, after much thought and research I have decided to plump for the celestron nexstar 127 MAK - there is a post further down the page that I started regarding my criteria and reasoning behind it.

I've deliberately 'underspent' on the 'scope compared with my max budget as I realise there is significant other expenditure for accessories required, but I'm wondering what would people deem 'essential' or very useful to get straight away and what can wait?

I've already got a great book - "turn left at orion" and a cheap but OK set of 10X50 bins which I have been using to view and learn the sky for the last 6 months or so. and i've got a copy of stellarium on the laptop and iStellar on my iphone. Any other books? star charts etc that would be recommended at this stage?

I've been reading about the revelation eyepiece kit which looks like a great set for this 'scope - but is it worth getting with the scope or waiting a few months?

I'm guessing a power supply would also be a good idea - I notice that skywatcher and celestron have power packs, but I'm also guessing that maplin or similar sell something suitable - any suggestions there?

I'm planning to look at webcam photography at some point in the future but probably not for a while as I don't want to run before I can walk, however with that in mind it is worth looking at accessories with this in mind, or getting stuff now if there is something particularly good value on sale anywhere right now.

Any other suggestions / ideas?

Hi Alex,

I don't think you'll regret your choice. Contrary to popular belief, a 127mm Mak will show you many deep sky objects, including all of the Messier objects visible from your location, (although some will not be seen at their best). In addition, these telescopes are also very good lunar/planetary instruments.