Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Essex/Suffolk border

Rhian

Hello Everyone!

I'm Rhian and I’m based on the Essex/Suffolk border. Always been interested in the night sky and had a couple of telescopes when I was younger which my parents (I mean Santa!) had brought me for Christmas but nothing too serious.

After buying my partner a 450D for his birthday/Christmas just gone and giving him the opportunity to get into photography (something he's always wanted to do), he decided to repay the favour and brought me a Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145p synscan AZ GOTO for my birthday!

I'm a total Novice at the night sky but already I'm hooked -even more so after looking through the forums and seeing the imaging section!

I'm not entirely sure where my telescope falls in terms of quality on the market but it's certainly doing its job very well!

Looking into updating my standard x2 Barlow (Celestron Ultima hopefully) and gaining some more EPs and replacing the two standard EPs you get with the telescope (10mm and 20mm). So any recommendations would be brilliant!

I'd like to start at looking at the Moon in more depth and moving onto Planets and Stars then maybe one day into Nebulas. I'm at the point where I'm a bit too keen and want to buy everything and anything to help my viewing experience even better than it is now! Haha.

Anyway I’ve babbled on far too much for my first post. Look forward to sharing my experiences and listening to/seeing yours.

Rhian

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

HI Rhian - nothing wrong with your scope. Its a Skywatcher which is a good brand and the SkyHawk is a lovely little telescope to learn with. Lots of us on here started out with either it or its slightly bigger brother the 130.