Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

im new and my telescope cant see the moon only my eyelashes

stuart hannah

Hi All, im new to this kind of thing but have always wanted to try it and as luck would have it i was walking past a charity shop yesterday and in the window was a national geographic 50mm telescope which i duly bought for £10, it looks new and unused. Howeve that evening i tried looking at the moon and all i could see were my eyelashes and everything was blurred. Having read the instructions it says i should be able to see the craters of the moon etc which would be incredible but now im very sad as i think my telescope is a dud. can anyone advise if im a bonehead and doing something wrong or the actual telescope is pants, it does look like a toy !!....:rolleyes:

Hi and welcome to SGL :rolleyes:

The good thing is it only cost £10 so you haven't lost loads of money. But you should be able to see craters on the moon and Saturn and Jupiter through it. You may also see some of the more bigger globular clusters.

To me it sounds like you are going past the focus point and hence not seeing nothing.

What eyepieces did it come with? Place the largest numbered eyepiece into the focuser and very slowly turn the focuser knob until you reach focus, you should see an image of say the moon get more clearer then all of a sudden a clear image will appear, go past this point and it will start getting worse.

Did it come with a finder scope as well, this is a little scope that sits ontop of the larger one?

thanks for the reply, the scope hasnt got a separate scope that sits on top and it has 3 lens h20mm, h4mm high power, a long tee shaped tiny holed lens that has no markings ( maybe this goe3s in the scope barrell long bit ) asnd a 2x erecting eyepiece

Can you send us a pic or tell us what model number etc - I assume its this one http://www.amazon.co.uk/National-Geographic-New-50mm-Telescope/dp/B002KKC114