SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

the expansion theory

i joined up to this site a while back after starting to find myself more interested in astronomy, the universe and physics

instead of rushing out and buying anything i thought i'd learn a little first, it's mind blowing at how many questions can be raised in a few short minutes.

here are some of them.

if the expansion theory is right and the univrse is expanding ever outwards to the point where billions upon billions of years from now the milky way will find its self alone with no light visible from distant galaxies and the more outwards you expand the faster it gets then how is it possible for galaxies to collide and merge.

now i'm new to the world of physics so to some it may seem a stupid question but:

1 the big bang set everything in motion so as an explosion has a start and an end there is only so much energy that can be set free at a single point in time, this would suggest that everything moving outwards would be moving at the same speed with the same amount of energy pushing it outwards.

2 in zero gee space unless a galaxy can produce its own thrust how is it possible for things to speed up the further out you get.

3 if everything is moving outwards from everything else no matter where you happen to be in the universe how is it possible for galaxies to collide

4 the fact that galaxies do collide and merge would suggest that motion and direction are random which would defunk the expansion theory.

you may all now laugh and leave sarcastic comments :):icon_scratch:

The big bang was not an explosion of matter into space, rather it was an explosion of space itself, and since space and time are interconnected, we really have to say it was an explosion of space and time, or space-time.

So, the big bang wasn’t an explosion of stuff like atoms or molecules, it was an explosion of a place and instance, it was the creation of when and where.