Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Max Exposure time for LX-90 in Alt-Az?

marco

Hi all,

I've decided to have a go at AP, I have a half decent scope in the Meade LX-90, I have a choice of DSLR - between a EOS300D and a 40D, I also have a netbook should I need it. I need to get the necessary adaptors between the DSLR and the scope but that shouldn't be a problem.

I will get a equatorial wedge for use with the scope when funds allow but in the meantime I'll have to stick with alt-az mode. My basic understanding is that because of field rotation, the exposure times I use won't be able to be that long. What I'm wondering is how long exposures could I get away until field rotation becomes evident?

As you can probably guess, I'm a total beginner when it comes to AP so I'm on the bottom of a rather big learning curve.

Thanks, Mark

Without auto-guiding, I would suspect inaccuracies in tracking will limit you before the rotation of the sky.

I use a 1000D on a goto alt-az mount + 660mm FL scope and I am limited to 30secs, not by field rotation but by the mount itself. And the LX-90 is a much longer focal length.

NigelM

You could try with a Focal Reducer in the system. and stick to high latitudes.

A Wedge would be an advantage too, but it's all extra money.

There is a Yahoo LX90 User Group that is a good source of help. Also the Meade 4M Forum is useful for technical problems you may encounter. There a loads of good Images been produced on AltAz mounted LX9O Scopes.

A couple of points from Matt Taylor here. He produced some videos for Meade a while ago.

Ron.

http://autostarsuite.net/forums/thread/15749.aspx

Thanks for the replies and there's some food for thought there. I will get the wedge