Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astronomy degree with UCLAN: has anyone done it or doing it?

Rosanella

I'm just finishing a Physics course at Birbeck College and might do a bit more experimental Physics with the OU in the Summer, the 10 credit point SX207.

But while reading May 2010 of Sky @ Night magazine I've stumbled across a page advertising the distance learning BSc (Hons) with University of Central Lancashire.

I have a Certificate in Maths with OU and the 24 credit Cert Introduction to Austronomy with Liverpool Jhon Moores University so migh be able to skip the introductory requirements :D

Is anyone studying or has studied with UCLAN by distance learning? What is is like? Are the modules relentless in the amount of work that one must do (like at the OU)?

Their prices seem reasonable, though.

Hi Rosanella

I'm afraid I can't answer your question because I'm in a similar position to you. I'm currently studying S282 Astronomy with the Open University and I'm thinking of signing up for an UCLAN distance learning module, possibly the introductory Cosmology one. I'd really like to hear from anybody who's studied with UCLAN on a distance learning basis, and get some independent feedback.

So, if there's anybody out there who's studied with UCLAN, please tell us!

Jed

Hi Rosanella, I've done several UCLAN courses, the Introduction to Astronomy, Cosmology, History of Astronomy and Sun and Earth Climate. They are sensitively thought out and run. Help is friendly and available. I would say they were rigorous but not relentless. As an English teacher for a quarter of a century I thought a great deal about how best to teach and I was very impressed by the pedagogical thinking behind the UCLAN courses. They really are a bargain, too. I also enjoyed courses run by Jodrell Bank and Liverpool John Moore's in the same consortium. Radio astronomy did get rather difficult, though, so be warned!

Olly