Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just joined and clueless

psychobabbler

Hi Everyone

I'm new to the whole thing but have been spending the last couple of months doing a bit of research on astronomy, telescopes and astrophotography, having been inspired by Bill Bryson's "Short history of nearly everything". What a book.

I live on the outskirts of glasgow and have access to a good site with limited light pollution.

I'm looking for a 'scope that is relatively portable and also a CCD. I'm really just looking for advice from you guys (and girls!) so i do not waste my money (Tight Scot? Where?!). I'm in the lucky position where budget is not a huge problem, but equally don't want to make a prat of myself. Would ideally like to do some deep sky work, more so than planetary.

Any help you can give will be very gratefully received. Have joined the Glasgow AS.

Thanks again

Psychobabbler

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi David and welcome to Stargazers.

To start with mate my advice would be to build from the ground up.

Go for as good a mount as you can aford and still pay for a scope to go on top of it.

I live in Paisley so if you want to come over and see my setup you are more than welcome.

Also mate give it a bit of time and pick the brains of your fellow Glasgow AS members they will be

able to let you see other setups and you might even get a chance to try them out.

Welcome,

Oh we can have some fun guys - budget isn't a huge problem :wink: Now is the chance for us all to buy our dream setup!

Welcome to the forum, don't be afraid to ask any questions - even if they seem daft, chances are that most of us have either asked or kept quiet till someone else asked on most of them.

Phillip's advice is sound... Get a good mount and the rest will take care of itself...

David, Daivd??? How do you know these things Jamie... :grin: Is it some kind of Scot super power?

Anyway, have fun David.

Ant