SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How to write a 'first light' report

Hello everyone,

I've spent many weeks reading through this forum as I start my adventures in astrology (kidding) and I would like to thank you all for the wealth of information and advice you don't know you have given me.

This advice has cummulated in the purchase of a C100ED-R from Sherwoods, whom I have to say delivered with exceptional speed and answered the phone within two rings when I had a question with regard to setup. Impressive in this day-and-age.

I have two questions for the group.

Firstly, as I would like to write a first light report of the scope once the clouds lift I was wondering what exactly I should be looking for/write in the report. Sure I can write things like its shiny, black, nice to touch, mount made of iron reinforced with iron (cant believe how sturdy it is...) but - as a scientist - I can of feel I could do with a structure to my homework. As a total newb I'm interested in what things the seasoned astronomer would be looking at when assessing a scope, and whether you a structure in mind whilst making this assessment.

Secondly, do refractors such as these need something like collimation (dont really understand what that involves...). The reason I ask is that when looking down t'road with it I get the impression of a double image. Only very slight, but noticeable when compared to the finder scope which is crisper than a crisp thing. I've read that the supplied diagonal and EP are 'ok' and wonder if they are the cause.

Many thanks for your help

Peter

I think a firts light report should pretty much be your impressions, it doesnt have to be scientific as such just what you looked at, how the views seemed, what equipment was in use (ie scope and the eyepieces used with it). What your impressions of thge kit are, is there anything you like particularly or dislike etc.