SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

I'm expecting too much..?

Hi, first of all please excuse my idiocy/ignorance

I'm completely new to this

So the other day I bought a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

I have done my research and saw that this was a well recommended scope.

It arrived yesterday, I followed all the instructions and built it without any problems. Luckily for me last night was perfectly clear so I was able to use it straight away.

The first thing I see when I step outside is a really bright "star". Its easily the brightest thing in the sky. It was about 10PM and (roughly) due west. I don't know much about the sky but using the software that came with the scope I was guessing this was maybe Saturn.

So after a lengthy process of actually finding it in the scope (the mount takes some getting used to), I see a bright light through the eyepiece. It was completely out of focus at first so it looked massive. I slowly started to focus. And it got smaller... and smaller... and smaller. It ended up as just a tiny pinprick of light... At the time I was using the 20mm eyepiece so I switched the the 10mm. And there was no difference. I was expecting to see the Rings of Saturn? But all I can see is a tiny jewel in the sky. It looks exactly the same through a cheap pair of binoculars that I have...

So basically my question is; Am I expecting too much? Is this all I'm ever going to be able to see? Or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for taking the time to read this

Any advice would be very welcome

Thanks

Matt

I suspect, since it was bright, and in the West, it was Venus. This is actually quite a difficult target for most scopes. Variable in size, and so bright, that it challenges even quite good optics (and observers). The fact though that your scope gave (ultimately) a fairly small point of light is actually encouraging! :D