Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello All

Marcellus

Hi there,

I'm completely new to this game, so thought I'd introduce myself as you will probably be hearing a lot of noob questions from me in the coming months!

I have always been fascinated with space and astronomy, but have never acted on it until recently. Last year I got myself a set of 7x50's and 3 or 4 star guides and books to work with. I had small success with these but have always longed for my very own scope. So, yesterday my Skywatcher Explorer 130PM arrived from Scopes n Skies. It was missing the motor drive and the Barlow lens promised...... looking around the forums this should probably not come as a surprise as I have now learned they aren't very good. Oh well, it won't put me off.

I live in Esher, Surrey, and unfortunately don't have a garden to view in. I do however have a balcony which will make do for now. Will also be looking for good nearby locations to star spot.

Can't wait for the skies to clear up so I can go out and put my new toy to use..... probably not to much effect :) but Looking forward to learning how.

Cheers

Hello mate and a big welcome to SGL, This is a great place, full of friendly people and lots of help and ideas :)

Any questions dont hesitate to ask as we were all new at some point ;)

Scopes n Skies arnt really that good as i think everyone has had a bad experiance (i have) and make sure you chase for the missing items!! the best place online i have found is FLO (link at the top of SGL) there prices are fantastic and service second to none.. give em a try in the future!

Great choice on the Skywatcher Explorer 130P its a great beginner scope as its not too big and is easy to work with. i have a Skywatcher and i cant fault it. Skywatchers are a very good choice and wont break the bank!

Dave.