Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just an excuse to say thankyou

JamesM

Hello there!

My name is James and I am a newbie to the subject of astronomy. I have to confess that I have been an active reader of this forum for quite some time and would like to take this opportunity, as my first contact with the forum, to thank all those who regularly contribute their time and knowledge towards helping people like me in our understanding of this vast and interesting subject. I would also like to thank First Light Optics for having the foresight in creating this important resource. ;):hello2:

All this might sound obvious to other more experienced astronomers but for a new person, considerations around equipment, technique and technologies can at times be a little overwhelming. Here I know I can find true impartial advice that is based upon experience in the real world and not on sales figures. I have also discovered that there can be disagreement between forum members which I find heartening as it shows that there are different ways to do things and that budgets and locations can often forge pragmatic compromises that also add to the strength of this forum.

So I not only want to say my first hello but to plead with everyone here - to keep up the good work!:):icon_salut:

Kind regards James

there are different ways to do things and that budgets and locations can often forge pragmatic compromises that also add to the strength of this forum.

Hi James

this sums it up nicely. there's always more than one way to skin a cat and options ranging from lie on your back and look up with your own eyes to buy a £127,000 50" reflector and a whole set of Ethi or what have you. Your criteria stated plus favourite targets and yes or no to photography really determine where you sit.

Hi James and welcome to SGL.

I'm pleased that you find SGL such a good resource.