SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Is a 10x50mm finder scope any good???

Hi all, found a 10x50mm finderscope for £35 its right-angled too, would it be worth it or even better than say a standerd 6x30??? remember here folks that im still a bit of a novice so would this make things easier or harder to find? Any advice would be greatfull.

Thanks,

Michael

Depending on the make/quality - the size is a good one for a large scope - should give decent wide views of the star field. If you tell me where it is I'll gazump you for a punt - so best not lol :D

Hi Brantuk,

Thanks for replying. It is unbranded as far as I can see. It would be for a ED80 do you think it would be suitable? As far as I tell i think they have a few in stock anyway..i found it in scopes'skies astroboot section.

Also while av got you here..im needing tube rings and a dovetail to match to a eq5 from a Orion ED80, dont suppose you know of where would be best to find them?? I was thinking the skywatcher ones would do? Also i found some cheap tube rings in that astroboot section..but their 90mm is that what id be looking for? or is it a case of it would be 80mm id need?

Also if you happen to know, what diffrences in dovetails there are? as im seeing ones of diffrent sizes but i dont really understand why?

Am i milking this one post a bit??? hehe

Thanks matey!

Michael

The only thing about an angled finder is that it may give a left-right inverted view, which would drive me nuts. I like them either correct or top-bottom inverted. I'd check this out first.

The size is good. It doesn't matter what scope you have, the finder still has to show something!

Olly