Narrowband

Hello there! Novice here

daveyboy20

I'm Dave and have always been interested in space but recently have taken much more notice of things and really started to get quite excited about it all, then 'wonders of the solar system' by Brian Cox was aired on the BBC and that really kick started it all again, I've just got my first proper telescope - of which I know nothing about!!! I only got it last night so haven't had a proper go yet, its a second hand Tasco Galaxsee 46-114500 with D=114mm F=1000mm does anyone use such a telescope?

So far I have observed an electricity pylon that I didnt know was there in the distance over my backgarden! I can't wait to have a go at looking at the moon

I got a few lenses with it;

SR4mm

MA 10mm Long Eye Relief

MA 20mm Wide Angle Long Eye Relief

2x Barlow Lens

Moon filter

I know nothing about them or what they are best to view? I have an interactive star chart that plots the position of the planets on my phone that I have been using to look at Saturn and Mars and Venus with the naked eye over the past few months and have learned a lot about the constellations, I cant wait to have a go at looking at the planets through my new telescope, do I have a good setup to see any of them?

Any help or info much appreciated, from an extremely excited though knowledgeless Daveyboy20! :D

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

thats a good enough starter scope going purely by the specifiactions you've given. I haven't used 1 myself but you should be able to see jupiter and saturn and the rings, and some deep sky objects like galaxys and nebulae depending on the light pollution in your area

Hi and welcome

your 10mm will be best for planets and i would use the 20mm for deep sky objects such as star clusters and galaxys.

and yes other scopes with similar specs to yours can get you views of saturn, jupiter (not for a while yet though), and quite a few bright DSO's.