Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Details in Saturn and Mars

Hi everyone, new member to stargazerslounge.com it is a great site with a lot of information that I have enjoyed reading. I am new to backyard astronomy, last week I put together my Skyquest XT8 Dobsonian and already had 3 chances to view the sky from my backyard. It is too light polluted for DSO and I cannot make out very many constellations. However the big dipper is visible and the star connecting the pan to the handle has been visible but very faint.

When I view saturn it is very crisp at 266x and last night I even had some good viewing at 400x early in the night. There is no blur around the edges or the rings, I can even see the shadow of the rings on the planet. However it looks similar to those glow in the dark stars and planets(not complaining) that you can put on the ceiling in your room. A nice color, but I am wondering if I should be able to see some detail such as cloud bands from side to side on the planet? Am I missing detail here?

Also Mars from what I understand it not very close at this time. When I view Mars it's just red with very slight and blurry color differences, looks to be red/orange with a blue blurry orb up top.

Any ideas or advice on getting more detail? Or is this what I should expect to see of these planets?(not complaining again) I just want to make sure that I am getting the most out of my stargazing and not missing anything really cool! :D

Firstly, welcome to SGL :D

Your scope is certainly capable of showing the details you are describing. With Mars it's very very small now but that said I could still see the polar cap (I think you glimpsed this yourself) and some darker markings when I went out last night. No getting away from the fact Mars is now very challenging.