Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Mount Advice

I've not had my scope long, I'm still a beginner, but having tried my hand at imaging, I'm already sick of the Alt-Az Synscan mount that came with the scope (a SW 130P Newtonian).

Now I've seen a second-hand Celestron AS-GT CG5 GOTO for sale for what looks like a decent price, so I'm hoping you chaps could advise me on whether this would be a good choice?

What I want from the mount:

- To be able to take unguided exposures of a few minutes (I can currently only manage 30s at best with the Alt-Az) using my current scope with Nikon D70 attached. How long can I reasonably expect to track unguided, bearing in mind the FOV is quite small at ~0.6deg?

- Support a heavier OTA at some point in the future, although not necessarily for *un*guided imaging.

- Be fairly easy/cheap to upgrade the setup for guiding in the future.

Many Thanks,

Lewis

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Unguided exposures of a few minutes are really only possible on very expensive mounts, ones costing over six thousand pounds. Some people cajole the EQ5 and 6 into giving a couple of minutes at shorter focal lengths but the process is not easy and these cheaper mounts (alas mounts are very expensive) are quite variable in accuracy.

I have only had one of these Celestron mounts down here and it was dead on arrival so I didn't learn much! I wouldn't write them off on that experience because it can happen to anyone. It is a pretty light mount and not very future proofed for you but I think it is supposed to be on a par with the EQ5. I'm sure it comes out of the same Chinese factory judging by the look of some of the bits.

A bigger mount would be the EQ6.

None of these will do long unguided imaging but autoguiding is not that difficult.