SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

help trying to view planets

chris285

i am quite new to all this still so you will have to bear with me, i got a skywatcher explorer for christmas and i have had chance to use it a few times since getting it. the moon and wide views of deeper sky objects like orions nebula are impressive, however i seem to be having a lot of trouble trying to observe the planets

what i find is that no matter the planet i get a orb of fuzzy light for the planet, so orange/red for mars and blue for venus so you get the idea. now the moon comes out clearly, and the clusters of stars also come out very clearly as well but its the planets i have problems with

a friend of mine says its likely to be the atmosphere causing problems when viewing, is he right or are there things i should check which i may be doing wrong?

What do you get when you look at Saturn and Jupiter ? - they are much easier to view than Mars or Venus to be honest. Also what size (aperture) scope are you using and which eyepiece ?.

Saturn is well placed for viewing at the moment - use Stellarium (free software) to find out where it is night to night.

appapture is 130mm/5 inches, i have tried saturn this evening with both a 10mm and 25mm eyepiece but all i seem to get is just a fuzzy image.

i have stellarium on my pc but went out of town for less light pollution to view

It could be the angle that Saturn and venus are at when you are observing them.

Venus is low to the west after sunset, so the light is coming througha lot of atmoshpere and associated dirt. If Saturn is also low, then you'll have similar problems. Try Saturn when it's at culmination (highest point). It should sharpen up and the 10mm should pull it into focus.

It could be the angle that Saturn and venus are at when you are observing them.