Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Do £20 Light Pollution Filters Work?

Do £20 Light Pollution Filters Work? I am thinking of buying one because of the stupid amounts of Light Pollution in Oldham. would it really make a difference or is it a waste of money? Would it make the Andromeda Galaxy look like a galaxy, and not the faintest ever small blob? Also i have some 10x50 binoculars they can see blue clouds of the Orion Nebula but with my telescope all i can see it the 2 stars... would it help with that? and will i ever be able to get the Horse Head Nebula with the stupid amounts of LP in Oldham?

Thanks,

Dark Amender

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hi guys

I am no expert but filters are quite specific things and I have a cheap LP filter which really does not a lot (I live in Stockport). the best recommendations I have had are for Astronimik or Lumicon filters (the UHC and the Oiii filters) which are about £100 new and if you are lucky about £50-70 used at 1.25".

as for the Horsehead, this is difficult with a large instrument (maybe 10-12") and the right filter (Ha filter - also about £100 new) with our skies I fear.

with any scope and no filters you should be able to see good detail/extended plumes of 'smoke' on the Orion nebula and probably the four stars in the trapezium. with my dob and 18mm eyepiece it goes on 'forever'.

I think the cheapy skywatcher LP filters mainly filter out light pollution from the old orange "sodium" streetlights. Most councils around the country seem to be replacing these with the new type of streetlights (the white/pinkish ones) thus making those light pollution filters less effective. What sort of streetlights do you have in your area?

I think FLO let you return a filter and get a refund if it turns out to be no use to you (of course youll have to pay postage back) so it might be worth a try anyway.