SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Meade Vs Celestron Vs Skywatcher

martintblack

Good Evening All

I have been asked by my lecturers to look into some new scopes for undergraduate students, to replace their aging C5s, and 8" Meade lx200 Classic (I think).

I came back with a list of recommendations:

Skywatcher Explorer 200p DS on a HEQ5 pro Synscan Mount.

Skywatcher AZ GOTO mounts with the old C5 OTAs on them (since they aren't bad, just the mounts that have gone)

Originally they asked me to find telescopes inexperienced students could 'shove down, turn on, and find cool things with'! I know there is the new auto-leveling gps all-singing-all-dancing Meades around, but I thought they were very pricey.

I am being asked now why I have chosen Skywatcher over Celestron or Meade. Personally, I've just had better experience with them, over the other two manufacturers.

So I put it to you fellow SGL-ers, what are your opinions? I am only a 3rd year undergrad myself, so the more experienced observers backing I have the better. I am open top other suggestions too, but the price needs to stay fairly low!

Thanks very much

Martin

IMHO at the level of gear you are buying there isn't much difference between the 3 companies.

You can chose the gear based on function/ specification and then pick whichever supplier makes the best design for you rather than buy based on the company name.

You want something to 'shove down, turn on, and find cool things with' and you suggested a equatorial mounted Newtonian? ;)

IIRC, Synta own the Skywatcher brand and they bought out Celestron as well, so there probably isn't much to chose between I'd imagine - same glass, different branding. Have used SW gear for what it's worth and found them good, but then I haven't had anything to compare against.

For the criteria given, some kind of GOTO AZ seems the best way forward, no?