Narrowband

Starting with Binos or a Spotting Scope

Hi,

I'm new to astronomy and my missus will give me slap if I spend much over £100... I have been looking for a decent pair of binos. As I understand it a 10 50 bino magnifies by 10 times with an aperture of 50mm, is this right? A good 10 50 seems the best I can get for £100.

I use to shoot a bit, and we use spotting scopes to see the target. I can get a spotting scope that magnifies 85 times with an aperture of 90mm for under £100... I think I'd be better off with this, but am I missing something? Has anyone every used a spotting scope? Is there any reason (apart from the teeny tiny tripod!) for not using one?

Thanks,

Zane

Hi Zane - welcome !.

If your budget is really fixed at £100 or less, binoculars plus a good guide to the night sky are a good way to develop your interest in the hobby.

If however you could, without getting slapped, stretch to a little more then you can now get a proper scope like this one, which is proving popular and will show you a lot more than binoculars will:

Reflectors - Skywatcher Heritage 130p Flextube

Spotting scopes are designed for terrestrial viewing and would probably not show great views of astro objects. 85x is quite a lot of power an would need a pretty steady tripod to be able to get nice views with.

Hi Zane,

can't really comment on the spotting scope as I've never used one but I started with a pair of 10x50s and yes you are right 10x magnification 50 mm aperture. They give a nice wide field of view and coupled with a good book or software package like Stellarium will allow you to learn your way around the sky and see a whole load of cool things.

Look for a pair of binos with a bracket to fit them onto a tripod if you can, they can get heavy quite quickly.

Rik

I've used both, binos and spotting scope, and there are pros and cons.

Binos - ultimate portability, ease of use, and the advantages of using both eyes at once.