SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Call me Quasimodo

I know this is a newbie question but I just want to make sure I am not missing something obvious:

I am 6'3 and when trying to aim My 'scope at somewhere up high (Plaeides last night for example) I have to scrabble around on the floor to see through the RDF

Is this normal?

I can't put My tripod higher because it gets shaky the higher it goes (naturally)

(I have a Celestron Astromaster eq130 and it comes with a cheapish tripod)

The other "problem" I came across last night is when changing viewing from Mars say to Orion Nebula ...the eyepiece is now on the other side of the ETA and i have to bend double to see through it.

I hear the cries of "Turn the ETA in its rings" but then that unbalances the 'scope and I have to balance it again....

I thought of putting a piece of tape to mark the correct position...any other ideas?

thanks for listening and I cannot wait until SGL5 to see other (more experienced ) people using their equipment so i can pick up some tips

Turning it in it's rings is the answer to both your questions, you can place a bit of tape if you like, it doesn't unbalance it if you simply rotate it in the rings, only if you allow any up/down movement quasi.

Hahahaa Quasi ! cracker ! :eek::D:D

Hey... Im the same height and had exactly the same problems (always turning the scope in its rings) until I tried a different way of setting up.

Try this:

1) Setup the mount to go as high as poss (and level it)

2) Before you mount the OTA, rotate it in the tube ring until the focuser is pointing down - basically so its in line with your dovetail bar (see photo).

3) Mount it all up, then check the balance (marking the balance point with masking tape for future reference).