SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First ever DSO - M45

LunarLight

Hey guys

I know this is not the best of images, but its my first attempt and im actually quite proud of it ;) I just bought a motor drive for my mount after many frustratingly poor nights trying to take photos. This was the first attempt using a motor. It really does help to have one!!

its a stack of 9 images of about 20 seconds each at ISO 400. I also added darks. These were taken during a gap in the clouds the other day so the polar alignment was not great and very rushed.

this is the DSS original stack:

m45original.jpg

and this is my first attempt at processing the image:

m45redo.jpg

Any tips or advice you guys can give would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mark

Well, Mark, 'the boy done well'! This is a good start - you now need to ramp up the exposure lengths. Try 30 -45 seconds for your next try and take a good few more subframes to stack in DSS.

I notice that the stars on the right hand side especially in the lower half of the image are a little bloated - check that you camera is fastened tightly and flat onto the focus tube.

This is a promising start though, keep going!

Thanks for the reply

steppenwolf: cheers :-) I just spotted a gap in the clouds and went out, I tried longer exposures but it appears my polar alignment was off again! meaning that of the 15 subs I captured before the clouds reappeared only 5 are ok to use which sucks.

thanks for the advice on the camera, I wondered why the stars were like that. :-)

gary1968: thanks ;) I will keep trying

LukeSkywatcher: as far as im aware im not using any magnification, its the camera attached straight to the telescope, no barlows or lenses or anything. Is there a way to reduce the magnification

NIce start dude...