SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Getting to grips with Globulars

Hi all,

I am fast developing a fascination for globular clusters; partly because they are such impressive sights; even thru my 4" scope in a light-polluted back garden.

I hear there are about 150 of them swarming around our galaxy like bees around a hive. What is it about globulars? Why do they circle our galaxy? How did they form? What is holding them together ... and and am I the only one fascinated by them!?

Thanks,

Steve :)

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Globular clusters are, indeed, fascinating objects - and usually very rewarding to look at through most decent-sized telescopes.

I'm no expert on globulars, but I know that they are quite unlike open clusters. Whereas an open cluster may contain a few hundred stars, globulars tend to contain thousands or even millions of stars. I assume the main thing holding them together is gravity.

Globulars are also very different insofar as they contain very old stars. Open clusters tend to be young and, like M45, are often still associated with nebulosity. I've yet to hear of a globular with any nebulosity associated with it.

I can't really comment on how they were formed. I'm sure that a more learned person on this forum like Astroman will have something positive to contribute if/when he catches up with this thread.

As you say, Steve, there are only about 150+ (I believe) globulars known in our entire galaxy. They are nowhere as plentiful as open clusters. However there are some good examples of globulars visible to us in the northern hemisphere. These include M13 & M92 in Hercules, M15 in Pegasus, M3 in Canes Venatici, M22 in Sagittarius (good southern horizon required here), M80 & M4 in Scorpius (also good southern horizons required) & M5 in Serpens.

Yes, globulars are a very rewarding target for amateur scopes. Interesting thread! :)