Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

what alters seeing so much? am i looking at nebula?

lostinspace

wow! popped out earlier with the binos for a quick gander and it was so clear i just had to get the scope set up. just south of orions belt there is (with the naked eye) 3 nearly vertical stars, with the binos its just gorgeous. just checked it out again with my scope and its stunning. i`m sure there is colour there. i`m not sure what i`m focusing on and weather it`s the seeing or not, could anyone shed some light on what i might be looking at? could it be my first nebula? i am new to this and am discovering the night sky for myself, slowly, but loving it this way. thanks all, hope your all enjoying the lovely clear nights we`re having,

john

M42? Are you looking at Orions "sword", hanging from his belt? At the lower end is M42. If you can magnify this you will find the Trapezium, 4 stars in a trapiziodal layout and if you really nail it you will see Trap E & F. I've seen Trap E so far.

It is very rewarding finding your way around the stars. Whilst goto might give an instant fix, hunting stuff down, or just "discovering" things, has to be the best.

Get a Messier list and start finding them, take some notes of where and when you first spotted them. Do some sketching too, as this really hepls you to "see" what you are looking at.

Clear skies, my friend, clear skies.

What colour can you see in the nebula?

hi criss, it changes, i`m sure i saw a huge of red? could anything else be affecting this. i`m aware of how difficult it is to see colour which is why i`m suspicous, especially as i have a very basic scope,

john

M is for the catalogue which was named after there finder a comet hunter Charles Messier? i think that is how you spell the name.

But to answer your question no. M objects are the brighter objects in the sky and are nebula glaxies and clusters

gratz on your first Messier object