Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Scope for imaging

I'm trying to decide what to buy as an imaging scope. Budget is a big issue and if possible I would like to spend less than £500.

I've been thinking about a fast 80mm Refractor. What's the best deal for this type of budget. My eye has been on a skywatcher Equinox - 80 but I really have little idea except I dont want a really cheap starter scope - I've already got one of these and they're not any good for photography.

Can anyone give me any advice based on past experience. I've been imaging for a few months now using a Canon 300d on an HEQ5 syntrec mount with various telephoto lenses. My main interest is DSO but I also like the widefield stuff.

I'm gradually accumilating the right Kit, I bought a second hand laptop recently and a copy of DSLR focus. After I've sorted out a scope, autoguiding will be next I suppose !!! Does it ever end ?

Thanks in anticipation

Richard

Just had a quick look at the spec for the meade 80 ED APO and it looks like the kind of thing I'm looking for. The price is about right too.

Why will I need a field flattener ??

I notice you're using one. are you happy with the quality etc

Towards the edge of the field, even with these scopes the stars start to look a bit like tadpoles - it's coma. This is corrected with a flattener. Here is an image of the Rosette without a flattener. In the corners the stars are mishappen. I havn't posted the image before as I'm not that happy with it :), but it shows what the Meade might be capable of. The image is 10 x 2mins unguided at iso1600.

Cheers

post-17204-133877424777_thumb.jpg

I vote for the Celestron C80-ED, it used to be available for £216, not sure if you can get it for that now, although on a CG5 it's still only £347, you could then sell the mount. It's an excellent scope, with very good colour correction. Only downside it that is has a rack and pinion focuser, but it seems to work well.