Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie with Celestron Powerseeker EQ80

Hi all!

I'm a complete newbie so please forgive me if i ask any silly questions!

I've acquired a Celestron Powerseeker EQ80 and tripod (discontinued around 2001), it has a 25mm widefield eyepiece fitted. I managed to see M42 last night and could clearly see four of the brightest stars in the nebula as well as make out a very faint "cloudiness" surrounding them.

I also tried viewing Mars but was very dissapointed (tiny red pin-point of light).

I wanted to know if anyone here has got any experience of this scope and whether i should stick with it as a newcomer to this field (advice on upgrades would be welcome).

Thanks!

G

I don't have your exact scope (I do have an 80mm scope among several others). I have however looked at the specs. Your scope should provide a decent introduction and is better than many of us had with which to begin.

While I would not spend a ton of money upgrading, it would be worth getting a quality 2x barlow so you then have two magnifications (about 45x and 90x). You can always take the barlow with you when/if you decide to upgrade. Then stick with the larger and brighter open clusters (Perseus, Pleiades, Taurus Hyades, double cluster etc). With your lowest power eyepiece the andromeda galaxy (2.5million light years away) will be a relatively large fuzzy spot.

You might also consider a wider field lower power eyepiece (about 32mm). A plossl (£30?)would be a great place to start unless you want to spend more for a wider field.... again you would take it with you when you upgrade and combined with a 2x barlow would give you an effective 16mm eyepiece.

Planets (especially mars) will bring out all the weaknesses in your scope (and all scopes have weaknesses). Mars isn't much better even in much larger scopes. Right now, the moon is full so that is why you didn't see much more in the Orion nebula. Go back in a few days.