What Do I Need For My Telescope

I have a 700x76mm Newtonian Reflector Telescope, with the following specification:

• Focal Length - 700mm
  • Aperture - 76mm
  • Brightness - 117
  • Resolving Power In Arc-Seconds - 1.82
  • Focal Ratio - f9
  • Star Visible up to Magnitude - 12
  • Focuser - Rack & Pinion Type (Accepts 1.25" & 0.96" Eyepieces)

The lenses that came with it are really basic and plastic.

Even the barlow lens was.

When I come to use anything about 12.5mm lens I cant focus it at all, and planets just look like stars still, like really small, what can I do to improve this?

I'm thinking new lenses but I'm a student and cant afford a lot!

So cheap-ish lenses please?

First off, are your mirrors collimated acurately? I have an 86mm newt, of a fair vintage, which is f8.9, so not much grander than yours, I got my first view of Saturn in this scope and was bowled right over. So I would start with checking the optics. If you can borrow some known, good EPs and see how they compare to the ones you have.

What's you location, there may be a forum member close by whom you could meet up with for on hand advice/assistance.

Stoke-on-Trent!!

Thanks for the advice mate, but, some of that went straight over my head!

I really want to get into this properly, its just setting it up properly.

Does it matter that the lenses are plastic? They are called "Huygens" I think.

What are EP's and how would I go about collimating the Optics?

Sorry about the questions lol!

A 12.5mm eyepiece will give you 56x magnification with you telescope. A 700x76 telescope will have a practical maximum of no greater than 150x, which should be enough to show the planets as discs rather than points of light.