Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Heritage 130p Flextube

Any opinions about this telescope? Although rather small it might be a good idea for a grab and go telescope. From its photo it looks like it is made mostly of plastic and wood? Is the focuser satisfactory? Does it regularly need collimation? What is the maximum field of view possible with this telescope?

I LOVE this scope. The optical tube i THINK is made of plastic covered metal. The Dob base is made of wood. The focuser is different to what i am used to but it works fine. I have only had to collimate mine once (when it arrived). Not sure of max FOV. Here is a very good review of it and what it can do.

The Sky Watcher Heritage 130 FlexTube Dobsonian telescope Telescope Reviews UK

Or here is a video review on youtube:

• 3 months later...

Is the skywatcher 130p dob hard to collimate? I'm thinking this may be the one for me but I'm a total newbie and want to make sure I've got something I can cope with!

No it is easy to collimate, especially as it only has a short tube you can easily look through a colli cap or cheshire eye piece whilst making adjustments to the primary mirror.

Have a read of Astro baby's guide to collimation (just google Astro baby) and have a fiddle with the scope you'll soon get the hang of it.

Collimation is so easy on this scope (if it even needs if after shipping). I made a simple colli cap from a dust cap i had and i have collimation down to about 95% perfect after a few mins. I found that my collimation problem was not with the primary but with the secondary spider leg which had been knocked out of alignment in transit. A couple of turns with an allen key and it was 95% spot on. I'm not a perfectionist so 95% will do me.