Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

5mm EP

can anyone find me a good 5mm EP for my scope for viewing planets better with? my budget isn't very big probably <£50

found a 6.4mm or something one on FLO for £20 but I would rather get a straight up 5mm one but they don't have any

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Sunwind,

You could perhaps try one of the Paradigm ED eyepieces:

1.25" 5mm 60 Degree Explorer Dual ED Eyepiece on eBay (end time 14-Feb-10 15:37:54 GMT)

I have no experience of these eyepieces myself, but several members of this forum have recently aquired some and first impressions seem to be good.

They also fall comfortably within your budget.

Hope this helps,

Lee.

I'm also after a 5/6mm eyepiece and really like the look of those. Quite a few users very happy with the 8mm and 18mm, but does anyone have any experience with the 5mm Paradigm? Can't decide whether to go for the 8mm or the 5mm.

I was out with the 8mm last night and this morning. Used in an 8" f6 and 8" f10 SCT.

Mars was sharp, free of false colour and showing nice detail around the polar cap in the SCT. That was at a magnification of 250x.

In the newt i barlowed it with a Celestron Ultima 2x to give 300x.........perfect!!!!!

I have the 8mm, 12mm and 18mm. Love em all. For the money they are the best eyepieces i've bought. Really can't grumble at £38 delivered.

Russ

...but does anyone have any experience with the 5mm Paradigm?

Although quite new to the hobby, my nephew, (also a member of this forum) is out, right now, testing the 5mm in his 130mm f/5 newtonian. Apparently, initial views seem promising...

Lee.

thanks for the tips. i'm also after a high mm EP for looking at large DSO's / things like andromeda, pleides etc, do I want a 32mm or 40mm?

32mm SP-Series Super Plossl EyepieceTelescope Accessories | Rother Valley Optics

40mm SP-Series Super Plossl EyepieceTelescope Accessories | Rother Valley Optics