Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

HHHHEEEELLLLPPPPP!!!!! Newbie

HHHEEEEELLLLPPPP!!!:)

Hello all, I'm a newbie and need some advice! I have just purchased a polar axis finder for the CG-5 mount and appear to have a small problem in that it does not fit inside the polar scope holder. The finder is fitted with its own date circle/meridian offset, so i'm assuming that the polar scope holder and date circle needs to come off the mount?? and then the finder just screws in ??

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP!!!

i'm quite heavy handed you see and dont want to force anything and break something!!

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If the polar scope you have purchased is for the CG-5 mount, you should find that the one your mount came with will unscrew to allow you to fit your new polar scope,

remember lefty loosy, righty tighty, sounds a bit daft but some people forget.

John.

Do you mind me asking which polar scope you purchased? Only the Skywatcher/Celestron polar scope just looks like a black tube with a rubber eyecup. This just slots up into the mount and held in place by those 3 screws. The 3 screws are used to align the polar scope.

There's another polar scope available which has the settings circles attached to the polar scope. I'm think these maybe for the Phenix clone version of the EQ5???? Not sure the setting circle on the EQ5 is meant to come off.

Russ

If you have a few days, I might be able to help. I have the same mount and just received my polar scope from FLO yesterday. I haven't tried mounting it yet but will try this week. The polar scope didn't come with any instructions. So I'm hoping the manual for the mount will have some info.. :)

If you find out in the meantime, please post here... :)