Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where should i start?

Ok here goes, i'am a complete novice so any help is much appreciated.

Where should i start looking with my gear to get used to my EQ mount ie moon, planets? which planet?

If i wanted to capture some images is there an affordable webcam you can recommend to get me going? As I would love to be able to look at the images ive seen when working away from home for prolonged period's.

Moon is the obvious one, best when not full and try for detail along the terminator - dar/light separation line.

Mars is rising in the East at around 21:00 these days. It's the bright red/orange "star". Will get better in the weeks coming up. Need a mag of around 120-150 and reasonable aperture say ~200mm.

Jupiter, it is around but getting low and is setting earlier. It is in the West in the early evening and you may get a look. Worth it just in case everything is good. Max about 80x and up will be fine.

Saturn is being mentioned but I have no idea where at the moment so probably about to appear.

Other easy things: Orion nebula (more then one actually).

Andromeda galaxy just have to find it.

Double cluster.

After that is the complete Messier list, all 110 of them. Various lists around. I have one ordered by type of object and magnitude. So if you want to locate just the galaxies, or just the nebula etc in the Messier list PM me an email address and I will send it over.

Then:

Recommended Beginner Astronomy Targets - McWiki

PDF from 2 organisation that offer observing certificates, these are the forms that you fill in may be something in them that you can select and use.

Royal Astrononomical Society of Canada - Observing | Certificates

Index of /~astro2/IFASData

List of coulored double stars:

Astronomical Data - Colored Double Stars

Forgot to add in The Pleiades: Find Orions belt and draw a straight line through from L-R eventually you dump into a star cluster - Pleiades. Easy to see by eye and quite high.