1825338873_SNRPN2021banner.jpg.68bf12c7791f26559c66cf7bce79fe3d.jpg

Newbie Alert! - Help with eyepieces and what I should be able to see

Hi knowledgeable folks,

I'm new to astronomy, although I've had an interest for a long while, I was given a Skywatcher 200P with EQ5 mount for Christmas (well, part of it anyways!)

My issue now is that I've got two eye pieces and a barlow:

10mm

25 Super Wide Angle Relief

2x Barlow

I've been having a look in the night sky and last night it was clear for quite a while before the clouds rolled in and I managed to get the Orion Nebula into view, but it was blurred and I was not able to focus on it very well. I also viewed Jupiter but have not been able to see much more detail than a glowing orb with for bright dots.

My questions on this note are;

- what should I be able to see and how well?

- can I use a x5 barlow lens to increase the magnification?

- will a 4-6mm eye piece help the magnification or will I suffer from focus issues again?

I read through the sticky regarding eye pieces but was a little uncertain at the recommended eye pieces for an F/5 telescope, given the high power was only 2mm away from my current high power eye piece of 10mm.

My next issue is astro-photography. I have a Nikon D80 D-SLR, which I got for the job of taking astro images, however, the magnification is very low when mounting the camera directly to the telescope. I've seen various pieces of equipment that can be purchased which, as far as I can make out, are effectively barlow lenses for cameras. My questions on this are;

- what adapter is recommended for my scope and camera?

- can I use something like a x5 barlow (again) for the purpose of increasing magnification with my camera?

- am I missing any equipment that is essential for getting good high magnification heavenly images?