Narrowband

Quadrantids meteor shower tonight!!!!

hi ive heard that its the quadrantids meteor shower tonight cant wait the last meteor i saw i must have been about 10 years old so im looking forward to this if i knew where to look in the sky i know some meteor showers are over certain parts of the sky but where is this lol? sorry if the questions sounds wiered , im still very new to this.

and what time would be best to sit and watch them

kelly

i always appreciate your help

happy new year 2010

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply
hi ive heard that its the quadrantids meteor shower tonight cant wait the last meteor i saw i must have been about 10 years old so im looking forward to this if i knew where to look in the sky i know some meteor showers are over certain parts of the sky but where is this lol? sorry if the questions sounds wiered , im still very new to this.

and what time would be best to sit and watch them

kelly

i always appreciate your help

happy new year 2010

From what I have read (I am also totally new) they will be visible in any part of the sky that is clear from around 6pm uk time.

Quadrantids 3rd - 4th Jan 2010:

Typically, 40 or so bright, blue and fast (25.5 miles per second) meteors will radiate from the constellation Bootes, some blazing more than halfway across the sky.

A small percentage of them leave persistent dust trains. This shower usually has a very sharp peak, usually lasting only about an hour.

For more info, Click this link

http://meteorshowersonline.com/quadrantids.html

Nah, the Geminids in December are worth it....if the clouds dont mess it up like they did a few weeks ago.Mind you i have never seen the Quadrantids. Maybe this will become my new favourite meteor shower. Stranger things have happened.

P.S.~~~A handy tip for observing meteors is not to look directly at the radiant. You wont see too many. Look about 45 degrees away from it in any direction.