SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First Telescope.

Hi everyone and Happy New Year :hello2:

For Christmas I was given a Heritage 76 Dobsonian, which is my first ever telescope so I'm a complete novice. I've done a lot of research on the net as to what I'll need but it's all a bit overwhelming. Could someone give me some advice on the basic accessories that I should get? it comes equipped with 2 Super MA eyepieces, 10 and 25mm. Any advice on recommended, affordable eyepieces that would work well with this particular scope would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

TELESCOPE SUPPLIERS - SKY-WATCHER TELESCOPE

You will be able to learn your way around the sky with the Heritage scope that you have. To help you will need a star atlas - there is a free one at Taki's Home Page save and print on A4 paper - when they get tatty just print off another copy! Much cheaper than a book!! There are plenty of interesting objects that you can see with a scope of the size you have!!!! Look and learn.

I would stick with the eyepieces supplied for now untill you are ready to move on to a larger telescope. Download Stellarium, buy a copy a Turn Left at Orion and also buy a red LED torch.

Peter

This is good advice from Peter - hold back from buying anything more for a while until you get to know the strengths and weaknesses of the scope and your preferences.

You get enough to get you up and running with the scope.

Hi Hutchie,

All the above holds. Good advice.

Did the scope come with a collimating device? If not look at Collimation

The cheshire should do it. Then read up on collimating. Buy a wooly hat. Then contact The Renfrewshire Astro soc.

As you live in a city, have a look round for some darkish sites. Your scope is small enough transport almost anywhere.

Sorted.

Have fun.

Dave