Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How would I take a photo of a scene like this?

Ive got a 'Skywatcher 150pl' reflector through FLO for Christmas, and on a particular website I saw this photo, which they said is an example of a photo taken with this scope....and this photo looks fantastic!

I am new to astronomy, and I know to take a photo like this you would require im guessing a lot of new kit and experience.

However, I was wondering what kit you would need and how you would take a particular photo like this. If anyone could shed any light on this it would be much appreciated!

I would also like to take photos similar to this where you can see the star trails? Do you need a motor to take pictures of star trails?

Sorry if these questions have been asked a million times already but thanks in advance!

post-17969-133877416017_thumb.jpg

I might be mistaken but thats 2 images merged together. The stars and nebulas are Bernards loop in Orion I think and a seperate foreground photo then merged over the top.

To obtain an image like this needs a very widefield scope most proberly a refractor, also a reducer to make it faster, a very good camera and at a guess 10 hours of exposure.

Then at least 10 hours processing it.

If this was taken by a 150PL I'll eat my hat if I had one.

Hi Musrol,

Could you give a link to this website ?

The photo has a look of E200 about it.

I'm guessing it could have been a camera mounted on that scope with a wide angle lens.

If not, I want one for Christmas !

Dave.

Taken from the OVL website :

Photo taken with 15075PEQ3-2 (Explorer-150), piggybacking a 50mm lens, f2.8, Kodak Elitechrome 200 ISO slide film, exposed for 12 minutes.

4,800 feet above sea level, in the desert south of Tucson Arizona.

Peter

At least I don't have to eat my hat :D