Narrowband

What do I look for first?

Ok, it's cloudy here...it's been cloudy since I bought my scope...In fact I feel as though the cloud has landed in my area and is never going to go away.......ever.....I hate cloud....and rain...rain means cloud...you get the picture.

But it can't last forever and there are going to be some clear skies ahead, sooooooo as a total nooblet what do I want to be looking at first? I have an EQ mount so it's all going to be manual, my finder scope is next to useless and I'd like some easy to find objects that are going to get me hooked as opposed to throwing the telescope over the fence and grabbing a beer.

All help really appreciated!

Love El Squido

why is your finderscope next to useless? you might struggle to find anything without a properly aligned finder. You can line it up in daytime on a distant object. Good things to see - m31, double cluster, m44, m45, m36,37,38, iota cancri and, in the small hours, saturn. Download Stellarium to see where things are. But seriously, line up the finder first and try to work out how the mount works in daylight too.

Trying to line the finder up...it's the mount it's on...cheap plasticy effort...I have it some where like alligned....on the 25mm EP it's bang on 6mm EP it's slightly out but that could have changed next time I move the scope...it's not that I knock it or anything, it just seems to have a mind of it's own! Maybe it's trying to test me?

I'm in the market at the moment for a good red dot (are the cheap ones worth having?) maybe a telrad or baader sky surfer three...but I dont like the look of the EZ finder as it looks very flimsy!

Thanks for the heads up on objects to start on...I'll write them down now and bang them on stellarium!

First: Moon, usually easy to figure out where it is.

By common constellation:

Orion: M42, M43, Betelgeuse, Rigel, belt stars, horsehead nebula(difficult) and if you go from Meissa through Betelgeuse you come (close) to the Rosette nebula.