Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_beauty_night_skies.thumb.jpg.2711ade15e31d01524e7dc52d15c4217.jpg

markwaddy

1st Scope for Beginning Astrophotography?

Hello, I'm looking for some advice on which is the best scope to buy with a view to using a DSLR (Nikon D3), rather than just viewing.

I'm a complete novice (no astronomy experience whatsoever) so wouldn't look to spend more than £200 in the first instance. Would a Skywatcher Explorer 130P Supatrak Auto offer reasonable results initially? It would be great if there's anyone who has any photos taken with a similar set up so I could see what to expect... any advice gratefully received! thanks.

Edited by markwaddy

Astrophotography is the most demanding and frustrating part of astronomy. It requires a lot of time and investment to achieve good results.

If you go for the "standard" cheapest beginner gear for decent results, you'll need an Sky watcher HEQ5 or EQ6 mount and a ED80 scope. Brand new this will be in the 800-1200£ range.

On the second hand market you may be looking at 400-600£. You should take a look at this primer and maybe buy the book "making every photon count" to understand all the ins and outs. You need to understand the gear, how to locate objects, how to take multiple photos of an object and how to use software to process all those pictures into one final image of the object.

It is possible to start astro imaging with a more modest setup but you wouldn't be able to do exposures over 1/2 min and that would add a lot of work to produce a good image.

EDIT: I was in the same position as you a few months ago. I decided to go into astronomy for observation only. I plan to get into imaging next year.

Edited by pvaz