Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where are all the Somerset enthusiasts?

Dr Nurburg

Hi,

I spoke to someone from Somerset on the phone today, who's number I got off the web, and I asked him about Star parties in Somerset.

He said there aren't any and that no one in Somerset is interested. He said the last party he went to was in Torquay a few years ago.

???

This I find hard to believe and so am starting this thread to find out who's in Somerset and who would be interested in meeting up next year when the weather gets warmer.

Now, I'm new to astronomy, I only have some 15 x 70 binos until probably May next year when I get my telescope. However I would be keen to meet someone in my area to chat with and help me get to know the subject better.

So I'm interested in meeting some guys locally for a drink or whatever over the next few months and for getting some Somerset star parties together/going.

I don't have a car unfortunately and so I am hoping that there might be some cool guys near Wells who would be able to help me out with a lift when the time comes to actually taking our scopes out in the fields.

But meanwhile just a drink will be cool.

Please respond if you are interested.

Cheers,

Simon

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'm not in Somerset but I believe SCS Astro arrange such things and I think there is a Astro society in Taunton.

RonJ

There's no point contacting him because that's who told me there aren't any star parties in Somerset or anyone interested in going to one.

I dont live in Somerset but we have a van down there which we use every week end. However, I am due to retire next year so if the time was right I would welcome something of this nature. The guy from SCSastro was at kelling this year and runs a shop in Wellington. Check out his web site.

Keith.