Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dare I say it...... Nikon D50

I've a Nikon D50 and wouldlove to have a try at taking pictures of whatever is up there,,,

Everyone seems to be using Canon stuff but surely someone here must have a Nikon as well as me....

Firstly.... what it needed to conect to the scope.... Mines a Skywatcher 130 ....

Im new with the scope too.

Thanks in advance for all assistance

I'm using a D70 and it works just fine for me :rolleyes: I do believe that Canon are somewhat better for astro work, and seem to be supported by various bit of software etc. But my Nikon is doing the business for me.

I can't see from the info on FLO whether that scope has direct telescope connection or not. On my 150PL there's a thread on the focuser that you can use in conjunction with a "T Ring" (Adaptors - T Rings) to connect the camera. The T Ring connects to the camera where the lens would notmally go... If you don't have those threads I think one of these could be an alternative solution: Adaptors - 1.25" T mount camera adapter You'd combine that adaptor with the appropriate Nikon T Ring and then slot the whole lot into the telescope.

Hope that helps.

• 3 years later...

I've got a quick (might sound silly) question on this. The adapters available for Nikon on FLO show one for NIKON and another for NIKON MF, whats the right one to buy for the D50?

thats for the nikon f series "The Nikon F camera, introduced in April 1959, was Nikon's first SLR camera" so its safe NOT to buy that one

i also use a nikon and a skywatcher 130, you wont get prime focus unless you are prepared to take a stihl saw to the tube lol

suggest you buy the nikon t-ring and also look for the barlow lens that has the thread on it to screw to the t-ring

http://www.merchantcitycameras.com/optical/optical-accessories/sky-watcher/2585-sky-watcher-2x-barlow-lens

that kind^ then you will get something in focus

Hi Dave,