Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

silly question about counterweihgts and mounts

Hi all

I am a complete novice but appreciate that the better the mount, the heavier the equipment that can be used / the more stable the viewing etc.

Is my logical thinking way off in wondering whether adding more counterweights would make a less stable mount, more stable? does it work like this or would more weight just create a mount more likely to break? I currently have a CG-4 which is the one I have in mind and use for a 120mm Celestron refractor but am also considering the purchase of a Vixen GP as a stronger mount for (eventually) a larger Newtonian.

Sorry if this is a stupid, and probably badly phrased question but I am sure you get my drift - no pun intended.

thanks for an guidance.

Shane

hi

the problem with adding more counterweights is to be able to balance the scope.

i would think that adding forinstance lead pellets inside the mounts legs, would be a better solution, but heavy.

alfi

• 2 weeks later...

thanks a lot alfi

I think you are right although I am thinking now about making some wooden legs and salvaging the tripod parts like the hub etc

that way I can get it high enough for my own purposes (I am 6'4") and also a lot more sturdy / attractive.

yes, I'm a modifier by nature! from the looks of your reply and some of the other posters, I'll fit right in!

There is some method in adding more weight to a mount, just not counter weights though. I have often seen suggested a bag of sand hung down from the center of the tripod, of filling the legs up with something suitably heavy. Extra weight in/on the tripod itself can only make it more stable and, hopefully, less prone to vibration.

The best set up I've ever used is a Tal mount and pier. Solid and weighs a ton!

Having said that, you don't really want to add weight if you've got to move the thing far!