Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help! First light with an Orion 10"

At last a clear night! Have had the Orion 250mm f/6.3 for almost 3 weeks now (It's a relatively old scope, manufactured around 1996) I've been like a kid at Christmas waiting for a clear night.

I'm actually a little disappointed, was maybe expecting more than I should. With a Vixen 10mm LV eyepiece Jupiter was quite blurred, but the 4 moons were quite clear. The OTA was a little shaky, causing the image to wobble.

A couple of questions,

M45 was quite clear as were Jupiter's moons, but Jupiter wasn't - does this indicate anything?

Wobble on the gp-dx mount, could this be something to do with the alignment? (I didn't polar align it, yes.. I was in a hurry and wanted to see stuff!)

Any suggestions what to look at?

My main ambition is astrophotography with my Canon 350D but I want to be able to see things clearly before trying to complicate things by adding a camera.

I'm a total newbie here, so go easy!

Jupiter is low now. I get the same some nights, depends whether the seeing conditions (affected by the atmosphere) are good near the horizon. Try it right after it gets dark.

M13 in hercules right after it gets dark, before it get's too low

M31 is quite high.

M57 Ring Nebula (search for a fuzy gray small thing in between the too back stars of Lyra with the lowest mag ep you have. then center it and up the mag. should look like a grey smoke ring)

M52 nice and dense Open Cluster

Double cluster in perseus (ngc 886/887 i think)

Closer to midnight the Orion Nebula (M42 & M43)

For a bit of a challenge NGC 7789 (White Rose), should look great on a 10"

You can use this maps for the Messier objects. Install Stellarium it helps a lot too.

Oh! And congratz on the scope!

Clear skies,

Paulo