Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first imaging effort...Langrenus

stefski

Hi All,

I've never imaged the moon, so I thought I'd have a go using my Watec video camera. Attached to my Nexstar 11 + 6.3 focal reducer. I've never used Registax before either. Have just spent 20mins playing around.:icon_eek:....Anyway, here it is...Langrenus with a few friends, taken about 45minutes ago (2121UT)....

:eek:Wow, have just seen some of the other images on this part of the forum....I've got a long way to go methinks:)

031109LangrenusDayafterfullmoon.bmp

Very nice first effort Stef and well worthy of posting. Around the full moon is often not the best time to image due to the distinct lack of shadow detail. Keep at it though, definately better than my first effort.

Steve..

"Messier and Pickering" That must be quite an old Moon map.

They dropped the Pickering name a while ago and it's been downgraded to Messier A.

I could never understand why the Pickering name was dropped.

Does anyone know why?

"Messier and Pickering" That must be quite an old Moon map.

They dropped the Pickering name a while ago and it's been downgraded to Messier A.

I could never understand why the Pickering name was dropped.

Does anyone know why?

:icon_scratch:yes, I noticed that on my moon map....Anyone know why they dropped the name?

Thanks all for all the kind comments!

:icon_eek:

Stef

Cheers John:)....Yeah, I'm mostly a visual, DSO type of guy. This watec enables me to see DSO's in real time through the 'scope. Great piece of kit. It has a high shutter speed setting, so I thought I'd give the moon a go.

Stef

I like the image a lot

I hope you don't mind me playing with the levels :icon_eek:;)

Not at all:).....How did you do that? Did you do it in Registax or Photoshop?:) Like, I've said I'm new to all this imaging stuff. I don't even know what Photoshop is:iamwithstupid:? Never had to use it before...Is it a free download?

Stef