Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Need advice on abservotory

:D I am a complete beginner and looking at building a roll of roof. That bit has been done and the hard bit begins were to put it in the garden and my biggest fear is the PIER and setting everything up as i dont have a clue on this bit. So any advice would be great and if you live in the Wisbech,Cambs,UK area then please feel free to pop round and tell me were i am going wrong.

Thanks to you all.

Can you confirm how far you are on with the project? Have you a shed built and a roof built and are ready to assemble it at some position in the garden? If not then the first thing to do would be to decide where it needs to go. No simple answer, but a balance betweent the best view with the least amount of light pollution, so spend a few nights outside and experiment with different position of setting up your gear. Also the shed must not offend neighbours (unless you don't like them), nor should it cos aggravation with the other half, don't learn the hard way or you may spend many nights out in the obs, with a sleeping bag :D D:

I've been working on my obs for a short time and it is nearing completion. The last few pieces will be ready on Thursday, and once installed, it's just cosmetic and wiring work to be done.

I've attached a link to my progress so far, it might give you a bit of help, or some visual pointers.

http://stargazerslounge.com/diy-observatories/89201-my-budget-roll-off-roof-obs-build.html#post1302641

All the best

Adam

Hi Diesel I've attached (or attempted to attach) pictures of my pier installation. Here are the steps:

1) Dig a deep hole, about 4 feet if you can if you plan on a heavy mount and scope.

2) Pop a plywood box inside which is varnished to stop it rotting and let it protrude a bit above ground. How large it should be is anyone's guess but I think used about 16 inches on a side.