Narrowband

Hello from a Manchester newbie.

andy jack

Hi guys my name is Andy I am a newbie both to the site and the hobby. I have been lurking just reading the posts for a little while now.

What a great site, the information it contains is simply mind blowing to a novice like me. :D

I did not want to post any "what’s the best telescope" type questions because its all been done before and I know how repetitive such questions can be.

Due to living in an area that has fairly bad light pollution I will be doing a lot of my spotting away from home. So I wanted a telescope that would be reasonably portable i.e. fit in the car, and give me the biggest aperture for my budget of around £250. After a great deal of consideration I decided against a Go-to option preferring to put my money into the telescope and mount.

Hopefully I have done the right thing, because today I became the proud owner of a Skywatcher 150p. It has to be said to a total novice like me it’s an impressive looking beast. This will probably sound a bit silly to those of you who have serious kit, but it looks massive in our modest living room. My wife, who was clearly not impressed has already pointed out the obvious, it can’t stay there! :D

Sod’s law would dictate that it is probably the cloudiest day/night we have had for months. It’s that cloudy here (half way up a hill) that I have not even been able to set up my finder scope. We are shrouded in cloud, the furthest object I can see is the shed at the bottom of my garden. :)

My daughter and I really can’t wait to have a play and no doubt as a result, I will have lots of questions to ask and experiences to share over the next few months. :)

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the welcome guys.

Conservatory, ottoman storage facility? :D

Once de-cluttered Mine will be living in a cupboard.:D

Loads of hills in Manchester, or at least Greater Manchester it covers a massive area. :)