Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ mounts

I'm a bit new to this Equitoral mount stuff. I've been trawling the web looking for info on EQ mounts for Astrophotography. Can any one tell me what is the main difference between the EQ3 , 4 ,5 and 6 mounts apart from the price. Is it just that the EQ6 is better engineered ?? Obviously I need a decent sturdy mount for long exposure photography. I am mainly interested in the Brighter Deep Sky objects and wide field images at the moment. Not too fussed about through the scope imaging at the moment - but I guess the day will come. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks ......

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It is generally the capacity and accuracy of the mount which increases with the number. For astroimaging the two most used mounts are the HEQ5 and 6 mounts, depending on loading it is generally one or the other, the EQ6 is a big mount and physically quite a handful but one of the best mounts in its price range, there are other mounts which offer similar performance and then you head into a totally different sphere with mounts such as the Astro Physics and Paramount to name a few, for very serious amateurs and professional imagers.

General advice is to buy the biggest mount you can afford as no matter how good the scope is it will not reach it's potential on a poor mount.

Brendan

I have always assuned the H refers to Heavy Duty as the mount is substantially bigger than an EQ5, I have both an EQ5 and a HEQ5 and they are not even similar, the HEQ5 is a superb mount, it is just a smaller version of the EQ6 Pro. Same high precision stepper motors which are more precise than the EQ5 Synscan GOTO mount.

Brendan

hi

i would have gone for the eq6.

i have the heq5 pro myself, but am now looking into the eq6 pro, to give me that little extra, and to be more "futureproofed"

i should have taken the little extra cost in the first place.

alfi