Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep28_banner.thumb.jpg.b94278254f44dd38f3f7ee896fe45525.jpg

zanes

What have I done?!?

Hello all,

After several years of thinking about getting a scope, and even more looking up at the night sky, I finally took the plunge and ordered a scope.

So, I ordered a nice, sensible off the shelf telescope? Err, not exactly, no. I ordered;

An Orion Optics 8" f/6 Europa, with 1/8pv upgrade and 10:1 focuser/

Now, I'm a bit worried as to what I have let myself in for, but time will tell. I'll update when I go upto crewe to collect it (~4 weeks)

A bit about me, I'm studying for a MEng in Electronics with Space Science, and I'm currently on placement (not in the space industry :) ) which is how I came by the money to get a scope!

Hi zanes! welcome to SGL :)

Be prepared for quite a few consecutive cloudy nights once you get your scope, happens to us all!

An 8" f5-6 Newtonian on a sturdy mount is one of the very best ways to get into astronomy. I wish I'd chosen something like back when I started.

Welcome to SGL and I bet you can't wait to get your hands on that 'scope.

Hi Zanes - welcome to SGL and what a brilliant choice for your first scope - hope the two of you will be very happy :)

What you have done is.....

Bought a terrific scope :)

Yes that sounds a mighty fine scope. Perhaps a copy of illustrated guide to astronomical wonders might compliment it nicely?

Mark

Hmmm I hope it is with the premium they command... However, I have been reading OO horror stories ever since I ordered- Not good for teh nerves.